Professional

Simplify Your Photos – Computer Folder Recommendations

After many years of saving photos, I’ve come up with a pretty good system. I have a folder for each year I have photos in and then a folder for each month.

For example:

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 8.09.39 PM

Template Preparation:

I have a blank year set up as well, so I don’t have to re-type it in!

Before I make my 2017 folder, I will copy my blank year folder and then I will already have a template for the next year, including spots for photos I know I have, such as big birthdays and other holidays.

Uploading an event into the folder system:

When I import photos, I separate them by date and event. I name each folder using the Month ##, Day ## and then a descriptor.

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 8.18.12 PM

Sometimes, it’s just a topic without a date when I took a few photos of that (ie/ FOOD with Hello Fresh meals)

My Phone Archive: 

Also, for me, I love backing up my phone photos, but hate sorting them! So, I have a ‘phone archive’ folder where I dump it all by month every once in a while, to make sure I don’t lose anything.

When they are really great photos or from an event, I might take the time to sort them out in to another folder or the main folder for that month.

This works well for me to keep my photos organized and backed up, what do you use?

What do you think of this photo shoot?

